Our Neighborhood

We believe that the most effective way to confront the disparity in our neighborhood is by cultivating community and a corresponding network of care. Only then will our neighbors and neighborhood truly flourish.

 
 

Meet our team

 
aurora-jw-170.jpg
 

Elizabeth Dahl

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Elizabeth has lived in North Seattle near Aurora Commons for over 13 years. She has Nonprofit Management and Fundraising Management certificates from the University of Washington and has certificates in grant-writing and volunteer management. Elizabeth started with Aurora Commons in 2012 as a volunteer and has been the Executive Director since January 2015. 

______________
elizabeth@auroracommons.org

 

aurora-jw-203.jpg
 

Lisa Etter Carlson

DIRECTOR OF HEALTH & WOMEN'S INITIATIVES, CO-FOUNDER

Lisa Etter Carlson is grateful to be able to spend her days in her neighborhood at Aurora Commons and at home with her husband Andy and two kids, Cedar and Kipling. Lisa is Co-founder of Aurora Commons in Seattle, WA. Prior to that, she Co-founded the Green Bean Coffeehouse (a non-profit cafe). Both of these movements were created and are currently curated by a community of folks that, together, long to midwife spaces where precious human beings from all walks of life can live as though we belong to one another. Lisa has been awake and living with intention towards her neighbors who are unhoused, drug dependent, and involved in street based sex work for over 15 years now. She is a Member of the Adult Survivor Collaborative (ASC) and is a proponent of harm reduction, safe consumption facilities, and loving absurdly.

______________
lisa@auroracommons.org

 

aurora-jw-175.jpg
 

Jacqueline Moulton

ART coordinator & shift lead

Jacqueline has her Master’s of Arts in Theology and Culture from the Seattle School of Theology and Psychology. Jacqueline is an artist who works with paint, photography, sculpture, and installation. Jacqueline has published a book of poetry entitled, The Day I Was Too Afraid to Jump off the High Dive and other tales of fear and trepidation. Jacqueline teaches art courses within the Visual Communications Department at Trinity Lutheran college. Currently, Jacqueline is working towards her PhD in Philosophy and the Arts at the Institute for Doctoral Studies in the Visual Arts. Jacqueline's philosophy is simple: none of us are free until each and every one of us are free.

______________
jacqueline@auroracommons.org


 
Marge Long Pic.jpg
 

Marge Long

Director of Community engagement

Marge is a Licensed Practical Nurse with a B.S. in Psychology currently working on her Master’s of Counseling Psychology at The Seattle School of Theology and Psychology.  She has spent the majority of her life walking with and advocating for the marginalized and underprivileged in the United States and abroad. She is passionate about living authentically; embracing the journey of becoming, as she allows other’s the freedom to do the same. 

______________
marge@auroracommons.org

 

aurora-jw-183.jpg
 

Karen Cirulli

CO-FOUNDER

Karen has lived in the Seattle neighborhood of Greenwood for over ten years.  Karen earned her B.A in 2007 and in 2013 completed the Lay Leader Counseling Certificate from the Seattle School of Theology and Psychology.  Karen has been a Licensed Massage Therapist  since 2005 and specializes in work specific to women who have experience trauma and/or abuse.  As well as starting two successful small businesses, Karen served as an Americorps volunteer along Aurora Avenue in in North Seattle for two years where she received training in Asset Based Community Development.

______________
karen@auroracommons.org


Katie Ross, Shift Lead
katieross@auroracommons.org

Sara Ewalt, Operations Support*
sara@auroracommons.org

Lenelle Jenkins, Host
lenelle@auroracommons.org

Zach Jenkins, Host
zach@auroracommons.org

Nada Jean Willis, Host
nadajean@auroracommons.org

Maggie Parker, Host
maggie@auroracommons.org

Kim Murer, Community Advocate
kim@auroracommons.org

Kirk Kroeger, Host*
kirk@auroracommons.org

Fischer Wallace, Host*
fischer@auroracommons.org

*New to our team!


 

 

Aurora Commons Board of Directors